Indian Food Festival

August 12, 2013 at 15:46 3 comments

…post for the day…

I’ve been gone so long, so busy with work and the house and my cousin being back from Dubai and working out I haven’t had the time to blog/blog hop. And now that I’ve managed to squeeze in some time, I’ve just flooded my blog with new posts. Anyway, this last one is to share about something REALLY exciting which happened a few weeks ago.

An old friend of mine asked if I’d like to perform with her sister and her at the Indian Food Festival. Which is this really huge event (check out the stage). Only problem was that we she asked me this A WEEK before the show. I wasn’t sure what to say but I knew that I really wanted this – I miss putting on a costume and being on stage. But I didn’t want to sign up for something I couldn’t do. And I didn’t want to spoil their show. And, A WEEK? How would I manage to learn TWO dances in JUST a week??

I said okay in the end though. Told myself I’d do my best. And guess what, “A WEEK” two learn two songs in fact, it wasn’t A WEEK, but 3 hours of practice for a Bollywood item song and 2 hours of practice for a Belly Dancing song. From FIVE DAYS to just FIVE HOURS? Unsurprisingly, I TOTALLY screwed up the second dance. I don’t like Belly Dancing and it’s much harder to learn/remember. I did okay for the first song but I was so nervous it clearly showed on my face. I was trying to make sure I wouldn’t make any mistakes (which I did still anyway). I wish I could do this better next time. But I’m glad I went for it. Oh. And thanks to all that running I’ve been doing in the late afternoons, my arms are now super tanned compared to the rest of my body – especially my tummy and legs. And. I’ve also lost about 3 kilos. :) Super like! Costumes were sewn by my friend Mil, the one with the short hair.

Oh yeah. It was a HUGE GRAND event with media coverage and all. There was a lot of waiting and the schedule got messed up but in the end it was a good experience still.

You can watch the video here if you’d like. Must warn you that I look grumpy and worried though. :(

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151719756859318

Entry filed under: Personal. Tags: .

Project Optimism – Because Sometimes I Need Self Reminders Amityville 2

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. katja  |  August 12, 2013 at 16:04

    It’s really unbelievable that you had only such a short time to learn it and it’s sooooo great!!! As I said, really fun to watch it and you three look so beautiful!

    Reply
  • 2. White Pearl  |  August 12, 2013 at 16:39

    Love the dresses !!

    Reply
  • 3. Ralph  |  August 14, 2013 at 16:29

    I totally agree with the other two comments. Beautiful dresses and ladies :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Have A Sniff At These Other Blogs

I Am A Part Of


Super Being Manipulated

Religion: "Real or Man Hoax?"

Quote A Wiz

My Wiz Mind's Wit

Food, People, Love And Stufff...!!

Random thoughts about random topics of the most random thing....Life

craftedincarhartt

a blog about women who do amazing things

Photography by Manos, Flora and Marinos

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

onlyavampirecanloveyouforever

The Life of a Fangirl....

Anotherdayinparadise2's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Lucky Wreck

The Upside of Falling Down

The Pancake Princess

Clean eats and bakes with a side of pancakes.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

